The Ultimate Veggie Burger

It’s been a while since I have posted; life has been busy.

veggie burger

I am super excited to share with you all an awesome veggie burger that I made for Steve and I last night. I stumbled upon this recipe while playing on my phone trying to wake up Monday morning.

As soon, as I read that the burger used beets, I clicked away. If you have read some of my previous posts you will know that I have been loving beets this year. Once scrolling through the recipe, I was happy to read that I had most of the ingredients and just a short, quick trip to the store was necessary after work.

The Ultimate Veggie Burger is a recipe created by Ana from The Awesome Green. This was my first time visiting her blog and it is absolutely beautiful! I look forward to scrolling through her beautiful pictures and trying other fabulous recipes.

I followed this recipe to a “t” except for a couple tweaks:

– used Naan (Indian flat bread instead of whole wheat bun); I had Naan that needed to get eaten

-Omitted the coconut oil; didn’t have any on hand and my patties were moist

-instead of wholemeal bread crumbs used panko bread crumbs

-Instead of Himalayan salt used kosher salt

– Substituted 3 tbs chunky peanut butter + 1 tbs sesame seed oil instead of tahini.

– didn’t place the sweet potatoes on the burger; tossed the slices in olive oil, salt and pepper and baked at 350F for about 30 minutes or until tender

The burgers were flavorful just by themselves, but the avocado dressing is out of this world. It was creamy, salty, and fatty all at the same time.

The burgers were tender and moist, but held together nicely. I was a little worried when forming the patties that they were going to fall apart, but the baking process really helped hold them together.  The texture was perfect, the softness from the beets and quinoa matched perfectly with the crunch from the flax seed and onion.

Note: Make sure to spray baking pan generously with cooking spray to avoid sticking. I had some sticking on a couple, but the clean up was really easy.

I was really happy that Steve loved the burger and gave me the thumbs up to make it again. 🙂

This recipe is a definite try! I just wish my pictures were half as beautiful as Ana’s.

Enjoy! Let me know if you make it and what you think.

One thought on “The Ultimate Veggie Burger

  1. Wow, I’m so happy you found my recipe interesting and your burger looks great! I love all the changes you made – the peanut butter sounds like a great idea, I’ll use it next time too! Thanks for sharing this recipe! Kisses, Ana

    Like

Leave a comment