Day Trip: Northern Minnesota

So, it’s been a long while since I have written my thoughts down. I am back now. So here I go…

To sum up this weekend in one word, it would be, AWESOME!! It combined everything and everyone that I love all in two perfect days. So much happened and in order to keep this post under control, I am going to split the weekend into two posts.

Let’s start with Friday and Saturday, which combines my love for my husband, friends and adventure.

Friday night, Steve and I went out for a date night. It had been a very long while since we went to see a movie in the theater so we decided to venture out and see Furious 7. We enjoyed the previous movies, and its an action, which is always fun to see on the big screen.  Furious 7 was good too! I loved seeing the tie in’s from the previous movies and how they featured Paul Walkers character. Nicely done.

Then we ventured over to REI.  We both are members and its that time of year again, where members get a 20% off coupon to use on practically anything and spend your dividend from last year.

I have been wanting a mountain bike for a few years now, a) since I love to bike b) Steve and I live less than a mile away from some great trails c) Steve has a mountain bike and its not fun to watch him bike off to enjoy the trails without me. We thought it would be a perfect time to use the coupon. To make a story short, I didn’t come home with a bike this weekend because the one bike that I fell in love with (hard) isn’t eligible for coupon use. Of course, my luck. So, instead we bought a tent and panniers for my commuter bike.

Don’t worry, I am going back for the mountain bike. I just need to wait a few weeks. 🙂

On the way over, to REI, we both wanted to go out for a drink after shopping, so instead of just the two of us we asked some friends who live near by if they were interested. And, Steve and I were excited they said yes. We met at Granite City because they have good home brewed beer. We had a couple drinks, light appetizers and great conversation, it was a wonderful cap to the day.

Now for Saturday. Steve and I set out for a day trip up 35 w.

We wanted to get an early start for the day so that we had plenty of time to enjoy everything we wanted to do and to be back in time for dinner plans with our friends.

I woke up at 6, to early to be honest, for a Saturday morning, but I was to excited for the day. We left the house, filled up the gas tank, grabbed coffee and were on the road by 8 am, which was our goal.

Stop #1:Breakfast at Tobies Bakery, Hinckley, MN

We wanted to keep moving so we picked up a few pastries that we could eat on the road. We had their famous caramel roll to share, I had one of my usual choices a raspberry filled Bismark and Steve one of his usual a apple fritter. The pastries were good, but not as good as I remembered. The caramel roll was light and airy with really good caramel sauce, Steve’s apple fritter was good, but lacked apple pieces and the whole roll tasted a little burnt, and my bismark, was good, except for the frosting tasted very commercial and airy. I will always stop at Tobies for pasties because its a must on a trip up north.

tobies 1tobies 2

Stop #2: Gooseberry Falls, MN State Park

This was our turn around point. The last time Steve and I were at the falls together we were dating and the falls were frozen over, so I was excited to see them flowing. If you are looking a fun place to stop as your drive through MN, definitely put this on your list. It’s free too. To sum up this stop, beautiful! Enjoy a few pictures below.

gooseberry falls 1 gooseberry falls 2 gooseberry falls 3gooseberry falls 4 gooseberry falls 5 gooseberry falls 6

Stop #3: Betty’s Pies:

Betty's Pie

We were in charge of bringing dessert for Easter, so we had the brilliant idea to stop at Betty’s pie to bring everyone. If you want to have some terrific pie, in a cute, welcoming setting, this is the place to stop. Steve LOVE’S the strawberry rhubarb pie, so naturally we picked up one and the classic apple pie. It was very hard to not dig into the pies right then and there. To help with that, we shared a piece of the raspberry rhubarb with crumble topping, which was yummmmy!. Not to sweet or tart, good amount of filling, and you can taste the love in every bite.

Stop #4: Canal Park Brewery in Duluth, MN

canal brewery 1 canal brewery 2 canal brewery 3

We both have been to Duluth many times, and always enjoy going for either a day trip or a quick weekend getaway. Recently a brewery opened, so being the foodies and home brewers that we are we had to stop. Plus, we were in the need of a little snack and beverage.

I had:
beer 1 which we learned took second place at a beer championship.

Steve had:

beer 2

I totally wish we would have had more time to enjoy a second beer. I loved my Nut Hatchet Brown beer. As I took a sip of the beer I experienced the lightness and brown nutty flavor, then the little bit of hops tickled my mouth, and as I swallowed I got a nice body with everything pairing together well.

The decor was inviting, with the big growlers behind glass, chalkboards hanging on the walls featuring the variety of beers and large glass windows looking out at Lake Superior. I would love to go back again in the Summer when its warm and sit on the very cute patio breathing in the lake air.

Then we then walked around Duluth for a short time then headed for our final stop.

Stop #5: Gordy’s Hi-Hat, Cloquet, MN

After reading that Gordy’s recently opened again for their 55th season, I was hooked on the idea of going there. Not to mentioned that Guy Fiery host of Diners, Drive-In and Dives had been there. Check out this video talking about Gordy’s.

The food was really good, the service was really friendly and the place decor was charming. I am excited to go back again!

Gordy's Food 1 Gordy's Food 2

We then rounded out our adventurous day, with a wonderful dinner, games and laughs with our friends at their house.

It was the perfect start to the holiday weekend.

Check back on Thursday to read about Easter and the wonderful food.

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

Leave a comment